No Girls Gone Wild Need Apply

We left off at the summer of 2008. I had just returned from living in Spain for the semester and was lucky enough to be awarded a Fellowship grant for the summer to do research at school. It paid well and even offered housing but with a stranger. Emphasis on the “strange”. One time she told me a story about how awkward it was to wear a skirt around boys. So when my BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD, like practically a sister, expressed interest in moving to NC for the summer and living together I was excited. Sure it would mean spending a lot more money on housing but it was totally worth it for an awesome summer.

We scoured Craigslist and housing websites in the area trying to find a room to rent that we could share in order to cut down on costs. I have a really gender neutral (or if anything more male) name so I tried to work in that we were 2 females, thinking that people may not want to rent out a room to what they thought were a young, unmarried couple. It is the South, you know. However we forgot that that lead to the assumption that we were just a same-sex couple. Then it became awkward because I felt like my emails or correspondence were something along the lines of, “hey can my friend and I rent your room? We’re two girls. I promise we’re just friends – we’re just really poor”. Really poor. As in considered siphoning gas, saving McDonald’s cups for refills at later dates poor. One woman came right out and told us that she was not looking to rent for a “Girls Gone Wild experience”. Wow, thanks lady. Just another reminder about how far we have to go in the fight for equal rights, P.S.

We eventually found a room in a house with some anonymous football players from my university. It was a great price and the guy had no qualms about my bff4l and I sharing a room. Plus it ended up that two VERY well known players on the team were living there and I was really excited about this. We signed the papers and moved in within days. Thus started one of the craziest summers of my life.

Does anyone else have experience trying to find cheap housing? Or, on the flip side, have you ever tried to rent out a room or house and had interesting inquiries?

Leave a Reply

