Hanging out at Goodwill

I have a confession to make. I used to think Goodwill was only really good for costume pieces. I will excuse myself and say that when I was in college I didn’t have any need for or room for (ahem, tight squeezes and all that) dishes or pieces of furniture to refurbish or any of the fun things that I now know can be found at Goodwill. I also have to give some props to posts like this one and this one for givin’ me a big ol’ slap in the face! (Sometimes I say that like “slappin da bass” from I Love YouMan and crack myself up)

I still don’t have a place for furniture but that will all come in good time. Anyway, I went to Goodwill yesterday to see if I could pick up any accent pieces for the bridal shower that I’m helping to throw on Sunday. The colors are yellow and gray so I was looking for any yellow glassware or (fingers crossed) mercury glass or just a pretty vase. I didn’t find any of that but may go back for some vases to make my own mercury glass some day. Probably won’t have time to do that for the shower, though. Here are some tutorials that I found on doing your own mercury glass – it looks pretty easy!

  • I LOVE the way these turned out! A lot of tutorials that I’ve seen describe the step with the paper towel as “rubbing” off the water and some people may like the more patchy look but in this blog she describes it as “popping the bubbles” and I really love the delicate look that she ends up with.
  • This one is a bit more involved of a process and involves black spray paint. I love the more vintagey look that she got from her process and really love the vessel that she used. In my search I found a lot of standard vases which look awesome but this one really jumped out at me!
  • Searching “DIY mercury glass” on Pinterest turned up a lot of results and most of the tutorials just have some slight differences. Once I get around to actually trying it I will see which process works for me.

So I may not have found anything for the shower but I DID come away with some great finds. Here they are!

Guess how much I paid for all 3 of these things? You keep guessing and I’ll tell you piece by piece.

First I saw this silver plate.

It’s not super fancy but I liked the oval shape. As you can kind of see from the picture it has some rust spots. I plan to take some time to search for good cleaning recipes (something with baking powder, maybe?) that could help clean it up a bit but if that doesn’t work I can use a doily to place the food on and make my side dishes at tailgates look fancy. Classy if you will. Plus, it was only $1.00 so if it doesn’tclean up, oh well!

Then I saw this fancy thang. Half of me thinks that it is ugly and the other half loves it.

Clearly the part that liked it won out. It has a few chips on the side/bottom of the swirly things but it isn’t super noticeable with the variations in the glaze. I plan on putting ornaments that I bought at the dollar store and maybe a red mardi gras necklace in it for Christmas!

I bought these the other day. I’ll just play around with gold or silver or maybe some of both and see what looks good! I am kind of excited and want to do it now but I also know that if I did it I would probably not want to put it away and it’s just too early for Christmas. I’m sorry Christmas, I love you, but I can’t push Thanksgiving out of the way. This is the look I’m going for:

I found this on Pinterest and pinned it a while ago but it is from this post on At the Picket Fence. Leaving it green will make it a little bit less subtle/elegant but, spoiler alert, maybe next year I will spray paint the swirly plate silver or white! Lots of possibilities. This plate was only $2.00.

Finally, I got this little gem. Or these little gems, I should say.

This little beaut didn’t have a price tag but I’ve been looking for some glass pebbles to do another Christmas project. If you can’t tell it has some clear full circles (like marbles), some clear flat bottomed pebbles, and some blue flat bottomed pebbles. I have no idea how many are inside but it’s pretty heavy. The vase is probably ruined because it’s 100% covered in tape but it’s just one of those vases you get with flowers so I’m not too upset about it. Gotta get my crafting on with these pebbles now! So this is the part that I’m excited about for pricing. I took it up to the counter wanting to see how much it would be. My other two items were $1 and $2 and I was pretty sure I’d pay some money for this because I know exactly what I want them for but I also had this fleeting thought of trying to haggle. That is so not something that I am familiar or comfortable with but I was trying to get brazen enough to say something like, “this didn’t have a price tag so could I give you a dollar for it?” But I lost my nerve.

I put my items on the counter and said I didn’t know how much it was (and also realized at the same time that maybe that’s why they put eleventybillion price tags on their stuff) and the lady looked at it all and started ringing it up and said “3.20”. Like… three dollars and twenty cents FOR ALL OF IT! Happy dance!!

So that’s my most recent Goodwill trip! Great success.

Any other Goodwill fans? Does anyone have any suggestions about how to clean a cheap, probably not very high quality silver plate? Who is excited for The Holidays?!

One thought on “Hanging out at Goodwill

  1. Pingback: CHRISTMASTIME IS HERE! | atightsqueeze

Leave a Reply

