CHRISTMASTIME IS HERE!

I feel like Christmastime has been here for a while but I’m finally getting around to a post about my decorations! I actually started it on Thursday – I had all of my pictures uploaded and stamped and ready to go – and my boss let us leave early since we didn’t have a lot of work to do! It was a Christmas miracle =) My husband and I were able to leave about 3.5 hours early to pick up my sister in law and make the trek north. It was so nice to get to DE at 10pm instead of 1am or later and we were able to avoid any rain. It was a really windy drive, though. So we got to DE Thursday night and stayed at my in laws and then Friday my husband and I went up to NJ to attend my dad’s 50th birthday! We were able to surprise him (and most of my family – only my mom knew) and celebrate for the night. Saturday we saw some of my friends from high school and then drove back down to DE. So now I have some time to update about my Christmas decorations!

We have a tiny apartment but I still try to decorate a lot because I just love Christmas. We have a teensy tiny Christmas tree that we already have too many ornaments for but I pull it out and put on as many ornaments as I can! We do have a lot of ball ornaments that are beautiful but not super meaningful so I usually don’t put those out unless I put them in a vase. It’s a step or two above a Charlie Brown tree, in my opinion.

I’ll start with my “mantle”. It’s really just the dresser in our kitchen but it’s the one flat space that is relatively empty that I can decorate. It works pretty well, actually. I’ll show the big picture (literally) and then break down each item.

Awwww how prettyyy! My decorations are a combination of cheapos that I used in my dorm room, homemade things, and hand me downs. This would fall in to that first category – I think my bestie from high school sent me a Christmas package with this countdown but I love using it every year!

Full disclosure: I took this picture weeks ago. I have zero idea why I wrote 12 days. I’m never good about remembering to change it every day so I’ll just tell myself that I was making it easier for myself by predating it. A few days after I wrote it/took this picture it still said 12 days (and still was more than 12 days until Christmas) and my husband was like “why does this say 12? It’s like 17 days away…” DON’T ASK QUESTIONS. The sleigh is a recent acquisition from my MIL. I’m not normally the type to have candy bowls out (mainly because I can’t avoid the temptation) but somehow I am able to avoid the siren call of Hershey kisses. Hershey kisses with caramel inside, though? They’d never make it. The bowl in the middle is also from my MIL and has some pretty holly on it. There’s also a small plate that goes with it. Always good to have some Christmas dishes that are pretty and can go in a mantlescape but also can be used. I had some pumkpin bread on the plate earlier this month.

Okay – see the frame? It was SO easy but it’s one of my favorite things.

If you don’t immediately recognize the quote then I need you to step away from the computer and watch Elf IMMEDIATELY! One of the Christmas movies that I watch every season (along with Home Alone 1 & 2 and Love Actually). The frame was something that I found at AC Moore or Michael’s after last Christmas for very cheap – maybe $3. It was just sitting around waiting for something until I found this printable! I don’t know what I’ll use it for next but I think I might just make it my designated printables frame. The frame looks like it’s wintery but also is a seafoamish color so I think it will work year round. So I just printed it out, used my paper cutter to cut off the excess, and stuck it in the frame! 1 minute project and I love, love it, love it!

Oh and what’s that over there on the left? My card wreath! Doesn’t it look so good with cards in it? I posted about making it here for my Pinterest Challenge but that was in October so I put it away until December 1. We’ve gotten a good amount of Christmas cards but I also saved them from last year so I’ve just been replacing an old card with a new one when we get it in the mail so it can keep looking full. I want to marry it.

Another quick project is this bead vase.

I have a ton of beads so I went through and picked out the Christmasey ones and layered them into the bowl. And that was it! I tucked it onto our TV table kind of behind the TV so it just adds a little bit of Christmas to that corner.

I also have these candles on our table. I love the red and silver. They didn’t fit well and my SIL told me they have some taper candles with thicker bottoms but I kind of like my solution. I grabbed some scraps from scrapbook paper and wrapped it around the bottom until it was thick enough to hold the candles in there. I wish I had more of the gray paper because I think that looks so good on there. I could also grab some green paper and make them look even more Christmasey (P.S. how many times can a person use Christmasey in one post?!)

Oh I have another update!! I really should have made this into a few posts but when the blogging spirit hits I have to run with it. So I posted here about my Goodwill find for $2. Here’s what it looks like all dressed up!

I like it. It’s in the middle of our coffee table which is a little big for it so I think if there was a tray underneath it it would look better. It’s a work in progress.

Know what I do have on the table next to it? The 12 Days of Christmas in New Jersey. And it’s not just 12 days of chemical spills and trash! You know I’m New Jersey’s biggest fan!

Okay last thing! Please ignore the Jameson coasters in the background. Note to self: pay more attention to other items in the frame! My sweet little paper Christmas tree:

I REALLY love this thing. Like a lot. I saw it on BowerPower and pinned it a while ago. She used wax paper which I think I might try another day but when I did this I had computer paper next to me and wax paper in the other room so… computer paper won!

Okay – that’s a lot for today. Doesn’t Christmas this year feel like such a weeklong event?! I think it’s because Christmas is on a Tuesday so a lot of people have Monday and Tuesday off – 4 day weekend! Do you have more time off? Do you have any holiday traditions? My family always opens one gift on Christmas Eve. Really trying to get my in laws to let us do that tomorrow =)

Happy holidays, everyone!

Leave a Reply

